• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS



Sharia Law, what is it? Is it good for Canada?



Sharia means ‘legislation’ in Arabic. It is a set of rules or a way of living that is practiced by many people all over the world, especially Arabic speaking people. It is largely associated with the religion of Islam. The beliefs of this law is derived from the Islamic holy book, the ‘Quran’ and modeled strongly after their prophet Muhammad.

The Sharia law covers many topics of personal, public, moral and civil life.

In Canada we are led by civil or common law, however, many countries are led by religious law. Most countries of the world use one of these forms of law.

‘The Muslim brotherhood’ is a movement whose goal is to spread Sharia law. Currently, Sharia is the national law of Saudia Arabia, but the Brotherhood is trying to bring it into Europe, UK, United States and Canada.

The use of this law is different in each culture. Some follow verses in the Quran specifically and some follow the Sunnah (which means a way of living for Muslims) or both. When this law is used in its strictest sense, it is considered the infallible law of Allah.

Islamic judges interpret the law in places where Sharia is official. When there is a situation that the law is not clear on, they refer to religious scholars that follow the spirit of the law given by the Quran or exemplified by Muhammad.


These are some of the Sharia laws:






  • Theft is punishable by the cutting off of the right hand.
  • A Muslim will get the death penalty for killing a Muslim but not a non-Muslim.
  • A Muslim will be forgiven for murder of an apostate, a highway robber and an adulterer.
  • A master will not be punished for killing his slave.



  • A woman can only have one husband, but a man can have up to 4 wives and Muhammad can have even more.
  • A Muslim woman who marries a non-Muslim is punishable by death.
  • A man can marry a baby girl and consummate the marriage when she is 9 years old.
  • A girl’s clitoris should be cut (According to the Quran).
  • For a woman to prove that she was raped, she needs the testimony of four male witnesses.
  • Homosexuality is punishable by death.
  • A dowry is given in return for a woman’s sexual organs.
  • Sharia still participates in slavery and sex slavery.  A Master is not punished for killing his slave.
  • When a woman is raped, the rapist is often not required to marry her, but only pay the bride price.
  • A rapist may only be required to pay the bride-money (dowry) without marrying the rape victim.



crying women




  • A man can divorce his wife but a woman needs her husband’s permission to divorce him.
  • A man can beat his wife for insubordination.
  • A woman who was raped cannot testify in court against the rapist.
  • A woman can only testify in court about property cases and her testimony only carries half of the weight a man’s does.
  • A woman can only inherit half the amount a man does.
  • A woman loses custody of her children if she remarries.
  • If a wife is found rebellious then her husband is no longer obligated to support her.
  • If a wife is found to be rebellious this gives the husband the right to beat her and stop her from leaving the house.
  • Only a husband is allowed to divorce his wife. He can make the divorce official simply by saying: “I divorce you”.
  • A woman must cover every part of her body because it is considered a sexual organ (Awhrrah). Some Sharia schools will allow the face of the woman to be exposed and some will not.
  • A man is forgiven for killing his wife at the time he caught her in the act of adultery. A wife cannot do that because the woman she caught her husband with could be his wife.
  • Women in low level jobs cannot retain custody of their children when divorced.
  • A husband and wife’s possessions are not shared during the marriage, and a wife is not entitled to her husband’s things if he dies.
  • Men can have sex with women captured in battle or slave women. If they are married, the marriage is annulled.



  • To criticize or deny any part of the Quran is punishable by death.
  • A Muslim who stops being a Muslim is punishable by death.
  • To criticize or deny that Muhammad is a prophet is punishable by death.
  • A Muslim who is lead away by a non-Muslim is punishable by death.
  • To criticize or deny Allah (the moon god) of Islam is punishable by death.
  • Muslims can only eat meat that has been sacrifice to Allah (be Halal).
  • A Muslim who leaves Islam is to be killed immediately.
  • Non-Muslims are not equal to Muslims. They must follow Sharia law to be kept safe. They cannot marry Muslim women, have wine or pork in public, read their scriptures or openly celebrate funeral or religious holidays.
  • Non-Muslims are forbidden from building new churches or building them higher than a Mosque.
  • Non-Muslims cannot enter a mosque without permission.
  • A non-Muslim is not protected if he leads a Muslim away from Islam.
  • A non-Muslim cannot inherit from a Muslim.
  • A Muslim cannot sell weapons to anon Muslim who will use them against Muslims.
  • Non-Muslims cannot say anything derogatory against Allah, Islam or Muhammad and they cannot curse a Muslim. But a Muslim can curse a non-Muslim.
  • Banks must follow Sharia law and they are not allowed to charge interest.
  • Sharia law advocates the death penalty in these ways: Beheading, stoning, amputation of limbs, and flogging.
  • Testimony in court is not accepted from the lower class workers.
  • In order to support Jihad, Islamic law, and advance Islam, Muslims are obligated to lie (Tagiyya). They are told not to feel guilty, and are not punished for it.
  • Honor killing is not punished.







  • It is the duty of every Muslim to follow Jihad, which means: “To war against non-Muslims to establish the religion”. The head of state is called a Caliph. Caliphs who do not follow the Sharia law are considered unfit to rule.
  • A Caliph (head of state) can obtain the office through force (Seizure of power).
  • Caliphs are exempted from being charged with certain crimes such as: murder, adultery, theft and sometimes rape.
  • It’s mandatory for a percentage of Zakat (charity money) to go to Jihad.
  • All commands of the Caliph whether just or unjust, must be obeyed.
  • The Caliph must not be a slave and he must be a male.
  • The Caliph must be removed by the public (Muslims) if he rejects Islam.
  • Sharia law will not allow a non-Muslim to rule over anyone, even a small group of non-Muslims.


This does not encompass all of Sharia law, but is meant to give readers an idea of some of the content.

Many of the practices encouraged by this religious law are not supported by the Bible. Some of them go against what many of us would consider common decency and care. Take a stand today and speak out about this.

Share and Enjoy

June 2, 2014 at 7:50 pm by admin
Category: Articles
Tags: ,