• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS

Ontario’s New Sex-Education Curriculum


The Sex Education Curriculum for Ontario has been changed. Changes to the Health and Physical Education curriculum were released at a press conference on Monday February 23rd, 2015.

The curriculum on Sexual education had not been updated since 1998. Supporters of this new curriculum state they wanted this change because the material was out of date.

This article highlights many of the changes that are being implemented.  The changes are being presented as positive and for the best interest of the children.  However, some believe that the material is very explicit and crosses the line of authority and responsibility of parents.

In 2010, the liberal government attempted to makes these changes but former-Premier Dalton McGuinty halted the process because of the outcry from parents and faith groups.



General Changes


Children in grades 1through 3 will be taught how to search the internet and stay safe while using it. The guide includes how to deal with harassment/abuse online or face-to-face.

Those promoting the new curriculum believe that children should be taught sexual education in the classroom instead of finding out information in lurid chat rooms.

In grades 4 through 6 more detail will be brought forth about online dangers including bullying. They will be warned of the legal, social and emotional risks of sending sexually explicit images online or “sexting”. (Sexting is the act of sending sexual explicit images or content through a text message.)

The new guide warns parents that as children get older, they are more likely to send a “sext” message. “Many students are unaware of the potential effects and consequences of sexting.”

Parents are encouraged to help their children develop the skills and ability to think about what they view online instead of parents blocking internet sites.



Changes according to Grade



Grade 1:

  • The word penis and vagina will be used.
  • They will learn the difference between destructive and caring behaviors.
  • The difference between real and fictional violence in media or online games.


Grade 2:

  • Will be taught the stages of human growth and bodily changes.
  • The importance of standing up for themselves will be emphasized.
  • Treating others positively.
  • Name calling will be discouraged.


Grade 3:

  • They will teach about Homosexuality and Same-Sex Marriage.
  • They will encourage healthy relationships with family and friends.
  • They will be taught to respect differences in others including other races and gender orientations.


Grade 4:

  • They will be taught about the physical and emotional changes that occur at puberty.
  • How to keep up with hygiene.
  • Safe internet use and anti-bullying.


Grade 5:

  • They will be taught about reproduction, including menstruation and spermatogenesis.
  • The stressful effects of puberty will be shared as well as strategies to overcome them.
  • They will be taught that their behavior whether in person or online can hurt people’s feelings and damage their reputation.
  • They will be cautioned against making sexual comments or sharing sexual pictures.


Grade 6:

  • They will be taught about Puberty.
  • Masturbation
  • Wet dreams.
  • They will teach about body image
  • How to lay a good foundation for relationships amidst the changes of puberty.
  • Teach against stereo typing especially and the social effect it has when others aren’t included.


Grade 7:

  • They will be taught about preventing Sexually transmitted diseases, infections and unwanted pregnancy.
  • They will be taught about oral sex, and anal sex.
  • They will be taught the concept of giving consent for sexual activity and how to communicate it.
  • They will be taught the benefits of abstaining or delaying sexual activity with your current partner, including vaginal or anal intercourse and oral sex.
  • They will be taught how to read body language and signals and vocalize their feelings.
  • The impact of bullying, harrassment and sexting will be assessed.


Grade 8:

  • Explore the reasons decisions about sexual activity are made. Learn about the benefits and risks of different levels of sexual intimacy.
  • More teaching about gender identity and sexual orientation will be given.
  • They will be taught there are six genders: male, female, transsexual, intersex, transgender and two-spirited.


Grade 9:

  • Material on mental health will be introduced, as it was previously taught to older grades.
  • They will receive more information about drug abuse.
  • Internet safety and use will be emphasized.
  • The factors attributing to gender identity and orientation will be taught.
  • Methods to prevent sexually transmitted disease, infections and unwanted pregnancies will be covered.
  • More information on giving consent.


Grade 10:

  • Sexual decisions.
  • The harmful effects of misconceptions about different genders and sexuality in our culture.
  • Enhancing mental health.
  • The effects of being in an exclusive relationship.


Grade 11:

  • How to prevent illness through breast and genital exams.
  • Learn more variety of mental illnesses.
  • Identify addictions.


Grade 12:

  • Understand how a relationship develops and how to keep it healthy.
  • Understand the legal effects of violence, harassment and abuse and work to prevent it.
  • Understand how healthy relationships develop.


The government claims they consulted hundreds of experts, educators, and religious bodies while developing the new curriculum, stating public opinion polls showing more than 9 in 10 parents support it.



The Quick Fact Guide and Ontario Curriculum documents are available below.



Grades 1-8 Quick Guide:




Grades 1-8 Curriculum:





Grades 1-8 Curriculum 1998:





Grades 9-12 Quick Guide:




Grades 9-12 Curriculum 1999:




Grades 9-12 Curriculum 2000:




Share and Enjoy

February 24, 2015 at 8:11 am by admin
Category: Bills